photo: Kai Schürholz



… The starting point of Detlef Günther’s work is the perception of the individual as an interactive process. What is perceived changes with the respective perspective, the context, new information, insights and emotions. At the same time, things change depending on the degree and type of attention they receive

Spatial installations such as ‘Going Forth By Day’ (2002) and ‘Transfigurations’ (2007) by Bill Viola or the ‘Giotto experiment’ by Detlef Günther deliberately break away from the art expectation scheme of international exhibition art and enable a socially sustainable discourse on technical-artistic dimensions. In relation to Detlef Günther’s works, which move between technology and intellectual contexts, I recognize a general basic trait: that would be the re-appropriation of the ‘we’ by the ‘artistic individual’.in the ‘we’ the ego-wise gaze subjugates itself, it looks into the face of others. Wherever one allows oneself to drift: immersive spaces in which political contemplation could find its place are anything but set aside; they are uncomfortable, restless, erratic and rather small, but allow for any enlargement.

Arthur Engelbert, Berlin, July 2009



Detlef Günther – Shortbio


After studying humanities and communication sciences at the Ludwig-Maximilian-University in Munich and the Free University of Berlin (Master’s Degree: M. A.) Detlef Günther studied free art at the UdK from 1984 to 1990 (Master’s Degree). At the same time he founded the group BOR with the artists Martin Assig, Klaus Hoefs, Oliver Öfelein and Jochen Stenschke. As a freelance artist, Günther worked in the 1990s on the research project “Technical Vision” at the Medieninstitut Berlin (headed by Prof. Dr. Arthur Engelbert). In 1997, he founded “Twosuns Media Development GmbH” and developed the interactive environment system “Enclued” in connection with a new type of camera procedure that records people’s movements in space in three dimensions. Both innovations have been patented by the German and European Patent Office.

Detlef Günther has appeared since the late 1980s with about 50 solo and group exhibitions in Germany and abroad, e. g. at the Haus der Kunst München, Gemeente Museum Helmond (NL), Galerie Kremer-Tengelmann (Cologne/Gelsenkirchen), NGBK Berlin. On behalf of companies and institutions such as Sony Deutschland, Festspielhaus Hellerau, HKW, Canon ArtLab in Tokyo and the artists Carsten Nicolai/Marco Peljhahn (project: Polar, Goldene Nica 2001), he has also realised various media projects and installations.

Detlef Günther’s works are represented in the Kunstmuseum Gelsenkirchen, Deutsche Bank Art Collection (Frankfurt), EON Art Collection, Museo degli Angeli (Brolo/sicily) and the Ruth and Karl Kremer Collection (NW). He lives and works in Berlin.

Foto: Kai Schürholz



… Ansatzpunkt von Günthers Arbeiten ist die Wahrnehmung des Einzelnen als interaktiver Prozess. Das Wahrgenommene verändert sich mit der jeweiligen Perspektive, mit dem Kontext, neuen Informationen, Erkenntnissen und Emotionen. Gleichsam verändern sich die Dinge je nach Grad und Art der Aufmerksamkeit, die ihnen zufließt.

Rauminstallationen wie ‚Going Forth By Day‘ (2002) und ‚Transfigurations‘ (2007) von Bill Viola oder das ‚Giotto-Experiment‘ von Detlef Günther lösen sich ganz bewusst von dem Kunsterwartungsschema internationaler Ausstellungskunst und ermöglichen einen gesellschaftlich nachhaltigen Diskurs über technischkünstlerische Dimensionen. Bezogen auf die zwischen Technik und geistiger Kontexten sich bewegenden Arbeiten von Detlef Günther, erkenne ich einen allgemeinen Grundzug: Das wäre die Wiederaneignung des ‚Wir‘ durch das ‚künstlerische Individuum‘. Im ‚wir‘ unterwirft sich der ich-kluge Blick, er schaut ins Angesicht der anderen. Wohin man sich auch treiben lässt: immersive Räume, in denen die politische Kontemplation ihren Ort finden könnte, sind alles andere als abgestellt; sie sind ungemütlich, ruhelos, sprunghaft und fallen eher klein aus, lassen aber jede Vergrößerung zu.

Arthur Engelbert, Berlin im Juli 2009



Detlef Günther – Shortbio


Detlef Günther studierte an der Ludwig-Maximilian-Universität in München und der Freien Universität Berlin zunächst Geistes- und Kommunikationswissenschaften und schloss das Studium 1982 mit einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit über „Die Kunstauffassung der Kritischen Theorie“ ab. Von 1984 bis 1990 studierte er Freie Kunst an der HdK Berlin, nachmals UdK mit dem Abschluss als Meisterschüler bei Professor H. J. Diehl. Zur gleichen Zeit gründete er zusammen mit Martin Assig, Klaus Hoefs, Oliver Öfelein und Jochen Stenschke die Künstlergruppe BOR. Als freier Künstler war Günther in den 90er Jahren Mitarbeiter an dem Forschungsprojekt “Technisches Sehen” beim Medieninstitut Berlin (Leitung Prof. Dr. Arthur Engelbert). 1997 gründete er die “Twosuns Media Development GmbH” und entwickelte das Interactive Environment-System “Enclued” in Anbindung an ein neuartiges Kameraverfahren, das Personenbewegungen im Raum dreidimensional aufzeichnet. Beide Innovationen wurden vom Deutschen und Europäischen Patentamt patentiert.

Detlef Günther trat seit Ende der 80er Jahre bisher mit ca. 50 Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen in Deutschland und im Ausland hervor, z.B. im Haus der Kunst München, Gemeente Museum Helmond (NL), Galerie Kremer-Tengelmann (Köln), NGBK Berlin. Im Auftrag von Unternehmen und Institutionen wie Sony Deutschland, dem Festspielhaus Hellerau, dem HKW, Carsten Nicolai/Marco Peljhan und dem Canon ArtLab in Tokyo (Projekt „Polar“ – Goldene Nica 2001) realisierte er zudem verschiedene Medienprojekte und -installationen.

Detlef Günthers Arbeiten sind u.a. vertreten im Kunstmuseum Gelsenkirchen in der Kunstsammlung der Deutschen Bank (Frankfurt), in der EON-Kunstsammlung, im Mueseo degli Angeli (Brolo/Sizilien) und in der Sammlung Ruth und Karl Kremer. Er lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.