In the Middle Ages, both sides of consciousness – towards the world and towards the inside of man himself – lay under a common veil, dreaming or wide awake … In Italy this veil first fades into the air; it awakens an objective contemplation and treatment of the nation and of all things of this world in general; next to it, however, the subjective rises with full power; man becomes spiritual individual and recognizes himself as such.

(Jakob Burckhardt)

The Manifestation of Volumes references this era and seeks to create a space of perception that bridges the gap between this period and what is still an ongoing pre-configuration of the world we live in today.






The invention of central perspective, of the virtual “box” space, and the concomitant emergence of a humanism that is also understood optically, i.e., of a so-called world and human “image,” have on the one hand led to the visualization of the human being himself, of his unbreakable dignity and individuality, but on the other hand have also laid the foundations for an order of visibility that has today risen to become ubiquitous mainstream:

“Big Data” and “Artificial Intelligence” seize power over the image and over human perception. The physical limits of visibility and our notions of image, human being and space are more and more subjected to a machine-based visual culture controlled by algorithms, in which new realities are created.

Christian Kupke



THE MESSAGE – JOACHIM’S DREAM | Installation

Chamber Version

Composition by Arvo Pärt „Spiegel im Spiegel“, Cello-Piano-Version (9 Min. and 33 Sec.) – Sebastian Klinger (Cello) and Jürgen Kruse (Piano).
With kindly support Brilliant Classics – The Netherlands.




The installation: In a small, all-black “box room,” the figure of the dreaming Joachim squats on a pedestal as a three-dimensionally reproduced sculpture, which in turn has been digitally processed as a 3D print. In analogy to the “angel” of the fresco, a flat screen (free-hanging, slanted, with image surface facing Joachim) is mounted laterally, on the left under the ceiling. The monitor shows a video painting on which images from various media documentaries on the subject of “surveillance and tracking systems” (without sound) have been processed to such an extent that only fragile image segments can be perceived behind a slowly moving play of color and light. To be heard in 2-channel stereo will be the composition by Arvo Pärt “Spiegel im Spiegel”, in the version cello-piano by Sebastian Klinger (cello) and Jürgen Kruse (piano), published by: Brilliant Classics, 2010.







JOACHIM’S DREAM (Videostills)





Moving Canvas (solo-version)








THE MESSAGE – JOACHIM’S DREAM | Installation

full version (draft)














In the years 1304 – 1306, the Italian painter Giotto di Bondone, commissioned by Enrico Scrovegni, created 38 murals in the Capella Scrovegni (Padua/Italy) with scenes from the lives of St. Joachim and Anna, their daughter Mary and from the life of Jesus Christ. With this work Giotto is today considered the founder of Renaissance painting and the inventor of Central perspective and Virtual space.

Joachim‘s Dream is one of these frescoes. Günther released the picture figure of Joachim from the fresco, gave it a 3-dimensional body, “biometrically” captured and digitally reproduced as “souvenirs”. A “souvenir” that recalls a story that began about 700 years ago. ….



JOACHIM’S DREAM

free 3D-replica of the pictorial figure, styrodur, acrylic paint, hight: app. 24 cm



JOACHIM’S DREAM – Souvenirs (shades)

pigment prints, diff. sizes



JOACHIM’S DREAM – Souvenirs

digital multiple, 3D-print, polymere plaster, hight approx.: 12 cm



JOACHIM’S DREAM – Souvenirs (colours)

digital multiple, 3D-print, polymere plaster, hight approx.: 12 cm



back to top


Sen-Giotto – The Manifestation of Volumes is an art installation that explores parallels between the work of Italian Renaissance artist Giotto di Bondone and today’s prevalent visual messaging techniques. The installation juxtaposes Giotto’s system of illustrating biblical passages as sequential depictions of deities with the continuous image streams that surround us daily.

The exhibit integrates 3 elements:

A vaulted projection screen that evokes the interior envelope of the Scrovegni Chapel in Padua, Italy – Giotto’s most revered project – and reflects live projection feeds from global satellite TV stations.

Three composite marble slabs placed in the center of the projection vault evoke Giotto’s Life of Joachim sequence from the Scrovegni Chapel. A series of 3-D printed halos, each derived from one of Giotto’s Joachim scenes, is inserted into water-jetted cutouts in the square sides of the slabs.

Sen Giotto – The Manifestation of Volumes is embedded in a modulating soundscape. Processed sound fragments from the satellite TV feeds, weaved through electronic and acoustic score sections, create an undulating and quietly evolving sonic backdrop for the installation.

read more






The Halo (Joachim‘s Life)

frieze of 6 plates, each: pigmentprint with gold leaf, 59,4 cm x 42 cm





The Halo (Joachim‘s Life) I exhibition view

frieze of 6 plates, each: Nero assoluto with inlays of smoked oak, gold leaf, steal frame, 30cm x 30cm x 2cm



…the aureole seems to have lost its place among men, withdrawn itself into a distance from which it can no longer be retrieved, can no longer appear, or appear only in such a way that it acquires a completely new function in the visible – as a pure constellation in space, as a pure reference context that refers to nothing more than (in the meta-picture): transcendence. …

Excerpt: Notes on the work of Detlef Günther, Christian Kupke, September 2017


The Halo (Joachim‘s Life)

frieze of 6 plates, each: Thassos marble with inlays of smoked oak, gold leaf, wooden frame, 30cm x 30cm x 2cm




The Halo (Joachim‘s Life)

lithobox with 6 lithos (Chine Collé), each: 22cm x 22cm







The Halo (Presentation)

oil on hardboard, 220 cm x 200 cm




back to top










… The dreamer is asked to believe and agree to what he or she can only partially recognize in the waking state, just like the viewer in front of the picture, who follows the parable of seeing and transfers it to the reality of the image. …

The SOMNIUM-scetchbook (pdf_german) you will find HERE.

SOMNIUM – The Reality of the Image. EVA Berlin-Kulturforum Staatliche Museen Berlin, 2017

Exhibition accompanying the lecture







SOMNIUM is a project by Detlef Günther and Arthur Engelbert.
The SOMNIUM-scetchbook (pdf_german) you will find HERE.





The 21st Century – Confessio (The 700-year-old Dream)

Installation, mixed media (draft 2017)




back to top

Im Mittelalter lagen die beiden Seiten des Bewusstseins – nach der Welt hin und nach dem Innern des Menschen selbst – wie unter einem gemeinsamen Schleier träumend oder hellwach. … In Italien zuerst verweht dieser Schleier in die Lüfte; es erwacht eine objektive Betrachtung und Behandlung des Staates und der sämtlichen Dinge dieser Welt überhaupt; daneben aber erhebt sich mit voller Macht das Subjektive; der Mensch wird geistiges Individuum und erkennt sich als solches.

(Jakob Burckhardt)


The Manifestation of Volumes knüpft an diesen Zeitraum an und möchte einen Wahrnehmungs-
raum ermöglichen, in dem ein Bogen geschlagen wird zu einer bis in die Gegenwart hinein-
wirkenden Präfiguration unserer heutigen Welt.






Die Erfindung der Zentralperspektive, des virtuellen „Kasten“-Raums und die damit einhergehende Herausbildung eines auch optisch verstandenen Humanismus, d. h. eines so genannten Welt- und Menschen„bildes“, haben einerseits zur Sichtbarmachung des Menschen selbst, seiner unverbrüchlichen Würde und Individualität geführt, aber andererseits auch die Grundlagen für eine Sichtbarkeitsordnung geschaffen, die heute zum allgegenwärtigen Mainstream emporgestiegen ist:



„Big Data“ und „Künstliche Intelligenz“ ergreifen die Macht über das Bild und über die menschliche Wahrnehmung. Die physikalischen Grenzen der Sichtbarkeit und unsere Vorstellungen von Bild, Mensch und Raum werden mehr und mehr einer maschinellen, durch Algorithmen gesteuerten visuellen Kultur unterworfen, in der neue Realitäten geschaffen werden.

Christian Kupke




DIE BOTSCHAFT – JOACHIMS TRAUM | Installation | Kammerversion

Komposition von Arvo Pärt „Spiegel im Spiegel“, Cello-Piano-Version (9 Min. and 33 Sek.) – Sebastian Klinger (Cello) und Jürgen Kruse (Piano).
Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Brilliant Classics – The Netherlands.




Die Installation: In einem kleinen, vollends schwarzen “Kasten-Raum” hockt die Figur des träumenden Joachims als dreidimensional nachgebaute Skulptur, die wiederum digital als 3D-Print weiterverarbeitet wurde, auf einem Sockel. In Analogie zum „Engel“ des Freskos ist seitlich, links unter der Decke ein Flachbildschirm (freihängend, schräg, mit Bildfläche zu Joachim gerichtet) angebracht. Auf dem Monitor ist ein Videogemälde zu sehen, auf dem Bilder aus verschiedenen Medien-Dokumentationen zum Thema “Überwachungs- und Trackingsyteme” (ohne Ton) soweit bearbeitet wurden, dass nur noch fragile Bildsegmente hinter einem sich langsam bewegendem Farb- und Lichtspiel wahrzunehmen sind. Zu hören sein wird in 2-Kanal Stereo die Komposition von Arvo Pärt „Spiegel im Spiegel“, in der Version Cello-Piano (9 Min. und 33 Sek.) von Sebastian Klinger (Cello) und Jürgen Kruse (Piano), veröffenticht bei: Brilliant Classics, 2010.








JOACHIMS TRAUM (Videostills)





Solo-Version des Videogemäldes








DIE BOTSCHAFT – JOACHIMS TRAUM | Installation | Vollversion

Entwurf












In den Jahren 1304 – 1306 erschuf der italienische Maler Giotto di Bondone im Auftrag von Enrico Scrovegni in der Capella Scrovegni (Padua/Italien) 38 Wandbilder mit Szenen aus dem Leben der Heiligen Joachim und Anna, ihrer Tochter Maria und aus dem Leben Jesu Christi. Mit diesem Werk (u.a.) gilt Giotto heute als Begründer der Renaissancemalerei und als Erfinder des virtuellen Raums (Zentralperspektive).


Joachims Traum ist eines dieser Fresken. Günther hat die Bildfigur des Joachim aus dem Fresko freigestellt, ihr einen 3 dimensionalen Körper gegeben, diesen „biometrisch“ erfasst und als „Andenken“ digital verfielfaltigt. Ein „Andenken“, das an eine Geschichte erinnert, die vor ca. 700 Jahren begann. …

Joachims Traum

freier Nachbau der Bildfigur, Styrodur, Acryl, Höhe: ca. 24 cm



Joachims Traum – Andenken (shades)

Pigmentdrucke, versch.Größen



Joachims Traum – Andenken

Multiple, 3D-Druck, Polymer Gips, Höhe ca.: 12 cm



Joachims Traum – Andenken (colours)

Multiple, 3D-Druck, Polymer Gips, Höhe ca.: 12 cm





back to top


Sen-Giotto – The Manifestation of Volumes ist ein Art-Environment, das Parallelen zwischen
Giotto’s Freskengemälden in der Scrovegni Kapelle (1304-06) und den vorherrschenden visuellen Kommunikationstechniken assoziiert. Die Installation stellt Giottos sequentielle Darstellungsmethode der biblischen Lebensgeschichte Joachims in der Kapelle Scrovegni, den uns täglich umgebenden Bilderwelten gegenüber.

Die Installation integriert 3 Elemente:

Eine transluzente, als Tunnelgewölbe konstruierte Projektiosfläche, auf der die in Echtzeit blau eingefärbten Bilder aus weltweit verteilten TV-Sendungen live wiedergegeben werden (ohne Ton).

Sechs zusammengesetzte Marmor-Steinplatten, zentral im inneren des „Tunnelgewölbes“ positioniert, stellen freigestellte, als Intarsien eingearbeitete Details aus Giottos Scrovegni-Sequenz Das Leben Joachims dar.

Sen Giotto – The Manifestation of Volumes ist eingebettet in einen Klanglandschaft, die aus isoliertem Tonmaterial der projezierten Bild-Datenströme und vororchestrierten Klangquellen komponiert ist (leise).

mehr lesen






Der Heiligenschein (Das Leben des Joachim)

Fries aus 6 Tafeln, je: Pigmentprint mit Blattgold bearbeitet, 59,4 cm x 42 cm




Der Heiligenschein (Das Leben des Joachim) I Ausstellungsansicht

Fries aus 6 Tafeln, je: Nero assoluto mit Intarsien aus Räuchereiche, Blattgold, Stahlrahmen, 30cm x 30cm x 2cm




… Die Aureole scheint, da ihr ihr Träger abhanden gekommen ist, keinen Platz mehr unter den Menschen zu finden, sich in eine Ferne zurückgezogen zu haben, aus der sie nicht mehr zurückgeholt werden, nicht mehr erscheinen kann – oder eben nur so, dass sie im Sichtbaren eine völlig neue Funktion erlangt: als pure Konstellation im Raum, als reiner Verweisungszusammenhang, der auf nichts mehr verweist als eben, im Meta-Bild, auf Transzendenz. …

Textauszug: Anmerkungen zu den Arbeiten von Detlef Günther – Christian Kupke, im September 2017


Der Heiligenschein (Das Leben des Joachim)

Fries aus 6 Tafeln, je: Thassos Marmor mit Intarsien aus Räuchereiche, Blattgold, Holzrahmen, 30cm x 30cm x 2cm




Der Heiligenschein (Das Leben des Joachim)

Lithobox mit 6 Lithografien (Chine Collé), je: 22cm x 22cm







Der Heiligenschein (Präsentation)

Öl auf Hartfaser, 220 cm x 200 cm




back to top



… Der Träumende wird aufgefordert zu glauben und zuzustimmen, was er im Wachzustand nur bedingt erkennt, wie der Betrachter vor dem Bild, der das Gleichnis vom Sehen mitverfolgt und es auf die Wirklichkeit des Bildes überträgt. …

Das SOMNIUM-Skizzenbuch (pdf) findest Du HIER.


SOMNIUM – Die Wirklichkeit des Bildes. EVA Berlin-Kulturforum Staatliche Museen Berlin, 2017

Vortragsbegleitende Ausstellung







SOMNIUM ist ein Projekt von Detlef Günther und Arthur Engelbert
Das SOMNIUM-Skizzenbuch (pdf) findest Du HIER.





Das 21. Jahrhundert – Confessio (Der 700-jährige Traum)

Installation, mixed media (Entwurf 2017)




back to top